Programs, Events & Awards

The League of Professional Theatre Women’s many programs support our goal of promoting visibility and increasing opportunity for women in Professional Theatre. For details on specific programs and when they occur please check out our event calendar.


LPTW programs include both public facing programs and events and member only activities. Below we list a number of our programs We are always adding new opportunities for the pubic to participate in League events. Member only activities continue to grow and change with the changes in the industry, and the needs of and input from our members.

Julia's Reading Room
Named for Julia Miles, this program provides opportunities to League playwrights, librettists, directors, actors, and producers to bring works in progress to be read.

Mentorships, Apprenticeships & Internships
LPTW's Mentorships offers counsel, technical assistance, and moral support to members upon request utilizing the vast reservoir of skill sets available among our membership. Our mentoring uses a one on one approach bringing together two members  working together to achieve finite goals, develop strong ties and ongoing relationships.  

Our apprentice and internship programs are growing all the time. Apprentices are mentored by LPTW members when working on specific programs. Apprentices also help with LPTW events and other LPTW projects. Interns function in a similar way, but work with LPTW administration, gaining professional experience in a variety of management areas. 

The Heritage Committee is dedicated to reclaiming the stories and contributions of women to the theatre that have largely been erased from the historical record that is taught and known. As part of our commitment to keeping alive the history of women in theatre, our program, Women Stage the World, hosts an annual parade through Times Square and the Theatre District each June. 

Oral History
Founded and produced for 26 years by Betty Corwin is an ongoing program  in partnership with the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, which chronicles and documents the contributions of significant theatre women in all fields. 
Click Here to View Past Oral History Interviews

Theatre Connections
Theatre Connections is a members-only program, designed to help our members build bridges and gain insights into active producing organizations that generously collaborate on this project.

League members, with the guidance of our travel committee, take group trips around the globe together to explore other theatres, theatre traditions, and to gain new educational and cultural insights into the industry worldwide. 


Green Room on Zoom*
The concept is designed for "members only" and is meant to be less formal than the seminar. It's goal is to be shorter than the two-hour format of the Master Seminar and the topic or focus for each Green Room comes from a specific need from the Membership at Large.


Professional Seminar*
The concept is designed for "members" and "special guests of the League", who are either guest speakers, panelists, and/or viewers/participants. Two-hours is the time frame and the format is more formal than the Green Room. It is optional to hold any kind of Q&A or open floor session with members. "Special Guests" can be any gender. 

*Note: Both initiatives were created by Co-President Mary Hodges and former Co-President Shellen Lubin (2020-2021) after a REDC Grant Development meeting with members Melody Brooks and Lorca Peress. The league needed additional member and public facing programs. We created Green Room and the Master Seminar to fulfil that requirement. 


Additional programs and member activities include:
Members Night Out
: a monthly evening of networking for members and guests
LPTW Annual Meeting: once a year we come together to address any governance and League-wide issues and concerns


LPTW hosts three major ceremonies presenting awards across a variety of disciplines, for services to the field and other achievements in the field.  

Theatre Women Awards
Held annually, this event celebrates women in the field chosen to receive awards for their exemplary work and dedication. The ceremony gathers women of all backgrounds and their supporters as we award the following:

  • Josephine Abady Award: Given to honor the memory of Josephine Abady, to a mid-career director, producer, or creative director of cultural diversity who has worked in the professional theater for at least five years. 
  • Lee Reynolds Award: Given in honor of Lee Reynolds, an award-winning producer who mentored and developed writing talent. This award is given annually to a woman (or women) active in any aspect of theatre whose work in the theatre has helped to illuminate the possibilities for social, cultural, or political change.
  • Lucille Lortel Award: Given to an aspiring artist who shows creative promise, and deserving of recognition and encouragement.
  • Ruth Morley Design Award: Given in honor of leading designer Ruth Morley, costume designer (Annie Hall, Inherit the Wind, Deathtrap) and former board member, this award is given annually to a woman for outstanding work in the field of theatrical design.
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Given on occasion.
  • LPTW Special Award: Given on occasion to a woman who has demonstrated extraordinary service to the LPTW Community or theatre community, generally.

2020-2021 Theatre Women Awards

Rachel Crothers Leadership Award®
Created in 2019 and given to honor the memory of Rachel Crothers, the LPTW Rachel Crothers Leadership Award® is given to a theatre woman who has distinguished herself in exemplary service and sacrifice for a common cause - a cause that leaves our society and the world a little better than the way we found it. In 1917, seven visionary theatre women led by playwright/director Rachel Crothers, came together to organize members of the theatrical community at a time when women could not even vote. Their service to fellow Americans fighting on the front lines in World War I and World War II upheld America’s highest ideal - sacrifice for a common cause.

LPTW Gilder/Coigney International Theatre Award

The League of Professional Theatre Women's (LPTW) Gilder/Coigney International Theatre Award Program was named to celebrate Rosamond Gilder and Martha Coigney, who charted an enduring course that facilitates communication among theatre artists across the globe.

Presented every three years, this Award acknowledges the exceptional work of theatre women around the world, promotes expanded visibility and new opportunities for the Awardee and her sister nominees, fosters connections and networking with LPTW members and local cultural institutions, and recognizes the contributions that an international theatre artist has made to her culture and the lives of her audiences.  Past recipients include Odile Gakire Katese of Rwanda (2011), Patricia Ariza of Colombia (2014), Adelheid Roosen of the Netherlands (2017) and Hanane Hajj Ali of Lebanon (2020). The Gilder/Coigney Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Franca Valeri in 2020.

View the 2020 Awards Here
Click Here To View All Previous Awards and Awardees in the LPTW Archives